## 1.—Governors General of Canada, 1867-1942

Name	Date of Appointment	Date of Assumption of Office
VISCOUNT MONCK, G.C.M.G. LORD LISGAR, G.C.M.G. THE EARL OF DUFFERIN, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. THE MARQUIS OF LORNE, K.T., G.C.M.G. THE MARQUIS OF LANSDOWNE, G.C.M.G. LORD STANLEY OF PRESTON, G.C.B. THE EARL OF ABERDEEN, K.T., G.C.M.G. THE EARL OF MINTO, G.C.M.G. EARL GREY, G.C.M.G. EARL GREY, G.C.M.G. FIELD MARSHAL H.R.H. THE DUKE OF CONNAUGHT, K.G. THE DUKE OF DEVONSHIRE, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. GENERAL THE LORD BYNG OF VIMY, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O. VISCOUNT WILLINGDON OF RATTON, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E. THE EARL OF BESSBOROUGH, G.C.M.G.	Dec. 29, 1868 May 22, 1872 Oct. 5, 1878 Aug. 18, 1883 May 1, 1888 May 22, 1893 July 30, 1898 Sept. 26, 1904 Mar. 21, 1911 Aug. 19, 1916 Aug. 2, 1921 Aug. 5, 1926 Feb. 9, 1931	Feb. 2, 1869 June 25, 1872 Nov. 25, 1878 Oct. 23, 1883 June 11, 1888 Sept. 18, 1893 Nov. 12, 1898 Dec. 10, 1904 Oct. 13, 1911 Nov. 11, 1916 Aug. 11, 1921 Oct. 2, 1926 Apr. 4, 1931
LORD TWEEDSMUIR OF ELSFIELD, G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., C.H. MAJOR-GENERAL THE EARL OF ATHLONE, K.G., P.C., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O., D.S.O	Aug. 10, 1935 Apr. 3, 1940	1 _

## Subsection 2.—The Ministry

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

## 2.—Ministries since Confederation

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in the corresponding tables of subsequent editions of the Year Book.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration
1	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald	July 1, 1867 - Nov. 6, 1873
2	Hon. Alexander Mackenzie	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878
3	Right Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald	Oct. 17, 1878 - June 6, 1891
4	Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbött	June 16, 1891 - Dec. 5, 1892
5	Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson	Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894
6	Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell	Dec. 21, 1894 - April 27, 1896
7	Hon. Sir Charles Tupper	May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896
8	Right Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier	July 11, 1896 - Oct. 6, 1911
9	Right Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden	Oct. 10, 1911 - Oct. 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration)
10	Right Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden	Oct. 12, 1917 - July 10, 1920 (Unionist Administration)